2017 Recipients of the Order of the Northwest Territories announced

2017 Recipients of the Order of the Northwest Territories announced

(YELLOWKNIFE) Tuesday, May 23, 2017 – Paul Delorey, Chair of the Northwest Territories’ Honours Advisory Council, is pleased to announce the 2017 recipients of the Order of the Northwest Territories as: 

-    Mr. Paul Andrew of Yellowknife
-    Mr. Fred Carmichael of Inuvik
-    Mr. Russell King of Hay River
-    Ms. Lynda Koe of Yellowknife
-    Mr. Jeff Philipp of Yellowknife
-    Mr. Tom Zubko of Inuvik

The Order of the Northwest Territories, established in 2013 by the Territorial Emblems and Honours Act, recognizes individuals who have served with the greatest distinction and excelled in any field of endeavour benefiting the people of the NWT or elsewhere. It is the highest honour awarded to NWT residents. A member of the Order can wear the insignia of the Order as a decoration and use the initials “O.N.W.T.” after his or her name. 

“These six recipients deserve to be granted this honour,” said Paul Delorey, Chair. “They are passionate northerners who greatly inspire residents of NWT to persevere, share our knowledge and wisdom and, give back to our people and communities.” 

The Induction ceremony is being held on Tuesday, May 30, 2017 at 11:30 am in the Chamber of the Legislative Assembly. The Deputy Commissioner of the Northwest Territories, the Honourable Gerald W. Kisoun, will lead the ceremony in his role as Chancellor of the Order.  

The ceremony is open to the public and the media are welcome to attend.   

For more information, please contact:

Tim Mercer
Secretary to the Honours Advisory Council
P: 867-767-9130 or 1-800-661-0784
E: Tim_Mercer@gov.nt.ca