2019 Recipients of the Order of the Northwest Territories announced

News Release: 2019 Recipients of the Order of the Northwest Territories announced



(YELLOWKNIFE) Thursday, August 15, 2019 – The Order of the Northwest Territories Honours Advisory Council is pleased to announce the 2019 recipients of the Order of the Northwest Territories as:


Mr. Joe McBryan of Yellowknife
Mrs. Lyda Fuller of Yellowknife


The Order of the Northwest Territories, established in 2013 by the Territorial Emblems and Honours Act, recognizes individuals who have served with the greatest distinction and excelled in any field of endeavour benefiting the people of the NWT or elsewhere. It is the highest honour awarded to NWT residents. A member of the Order can wear the insignia of the Order as a decoration and use the initials “O.N.W.T.” after his or her name.


The Honours Advisory Council received a number of nominations this year and it was definitely a difficult choice. The two recipients chosen are very deserving of this recognition as they have touched the lives of many northerners. Mr. McBryan, fondly known as ‘Buffalo Joe’, was nominated for his work in business in the aviation field. Joe’s generosity has helped families in need, provided sports teams and schools discounted fares, and assisted Elders when they were short on airfare.  Mrs. Fuller was nominated for her work in public service. She is the Executive Director of the YWCA NWT and is an advocate for services and programs that increase the safety for women and families throughout the north. Both Mr. McBryan and Mrs. Fuller inspire northerners to expand our horizons and give back to our communities.


The induction ceremony will take place in the Chamber of the Legislative Assembly building in Yellowknife on Tuesday, August 20th, at 11:00 am. The Commissioner of the Northwest Territories, the Honourable Margaret Thom, will lead the ceremony in her role as Chancellor of the Order.


The ceremony is open to the public and the media are welcome to attend.


For more information, please contact:


Danielle Mager

Manager, Public Affairs and Communications

Northwest Territories Legislative Assembly

P: 867-767-9130 ext. 12017

E: danielle_mager@gov.nt.ca