Appointments to Commission Offices

Appointments to Commission Offices

(YELLOWKNIFE) Friday, October 20, 2017 – The Legislative Assembly has recommended the appointment of two Statutory Office Commissioners.

Mr. David Phillip Jones has been reappointed as Conflict of Interest Commissioner, this reappointment will come into effect on December 1, 2017.

Ms. Elizabeth Joy Noonan has been appointed as the Equal Pay Commissioner. Ms. Noonan is currently a mediator and arbitrator in Ontario and has significant expertise in the field of Equal Pay. Ms. Noonan was legal counsel in an equal pay case involving Bell Canada and was team co-lead for the complaint filed against the Government of the Northwest Territories by the Union of Northwest Workers and the Public Service Alliance of Canada that ultimately led to the establishment of the position of Equal Pay Commissioner.

“These individuals are very well suited to these roles and we look forward to working with both of them,” said Honourable Speaker Jackson Lafferty.

Both appointments are for a term of four years.

For further information, please contact:

Danielle Mager
Manager, Public Affairs and Communications
Legislative Assembly of the NWT
Tel: (867) 767-9130 ext. 12017
Fax: (867) 920-735