Executive Council Members Selected by the 19th Legislative Assembly

Executive Council Members Selected by the 19th Legislative Assembly
(Yellowknife)  Thursday, October 24, 2019 - Members of the 19th Northwest Territories Legislative Assembly have chosen the six Members who, in concert with Caroline Cochrane, will form the Executive Council of the Northwest Territories.  The Territorial Leadership Committee held the vote in the Assembly Chamber earlier today.
The following Members, once formally sworn-in at 3:00 p.m. on Friday, October 25, 2019, will join Premier-elect, Caroline Cochrane: 
Ms. Paulie Chinna, MLA Sahtu
Ms. Diane Thom, MLA Inuvik Boot Lake
Mr. R.J. Simpson, MLA Hay River North
Mr. Shane Thompson, MLA Nahendeh
Ms. Katrina Nokleby, MLA Great Slave
Ms. Caroline Wawzonek, MLA Yellowknife South
The Executive Council selection process followed the established practice whereby a regional balance was maintained by selecting two Members from the northern constituencies, two from southern constituencies, and two from Yellowknife. 
Formal motions to ratify the appointments to the Executive Council will be brought forward when the 19th Legislative Assembly convenes on Friday, October 25th at 1:30 p.m.  The Premier will assign cabinet portfolios at a later date.

For more information, please contact:

Danielle Mager
Manager, Public Affairs and Communications
Northwest Territories Legislative Assembly
Phone: 867-767-9130 ext. 12017
E-mail: Danielle_mager@gov.nt.ca