June 15, 2015

Standing Committee on Social Programs to Review New Mental Health Act

(Yellowknife) Monday, June 15, 2015 – Bill 55, the comprehensive rewrite of the Mental Health Act, received second reading on June 2, 2015, and has been referred to the Standing Committee on Social Programs, chaired by Mr. Alfred Moses. The Bill will replace the current Mental Health Act, which is out of step with legislation elsewhere in Canada.

“Because this legislation has not seen any major amendments in nearly 30 years, it will be the responsibility of the Standing Committee on Social Programs to conduct an extensive public review of this outdated Act. I look forward to taking Bill 55 to communities across the Northwest Territories and hearing the concerns of northerners on this vital piece of legislation,” says Mr. Moses.

The proposed legislation would incorporate many important changes. It would allow for the care and treatment of patients in their own communities. It would also establish a Review Board to hear complaints from patients, patient advocates, and medical practitioners. 

The Standing Committee on Social Programs will be traveling widely to communities in the Northwest Territories in the late summer/early fall of 2015. A detailed public hearing schedule will be distributed and advertised later this summer. 

A copy of Bill 55 can be found on the Legislative Assembly website at www.assembly.gov.nt.ca, under the Documents & Proceedings heading, Bills & Legislation.

For more information, or to facilitate a public hearing in your community, please contact:

Alfred Moses, MLA Inuvik Boot Lake                                      
Legislative Assembly of the NWT                                              
P: 867-669-2282                                                                      
P: 867-777-4693                                                                       
E: alfred_moses@gov.nt.ca                                                      


Danielle Mager, Committee Clerk
Standing Committee on Social Programs
Legislative Assembly of the NWT
P: 867-669-2231
F: 867-920-4785
E: danielle_mager@gov.nt.ca                                                                                             


             P.O. Box 1320, Yellowknife, NT X1A 2L9
15-22    Telephone:  867-669-2200   Fax 867-920-4735