June 15, 2016

2016 Recipients of the Order of the Northwest Territories announced

(YELLOWKNIFE) Wednesday, June 15, 2016 – Paul Delorey, Chair of the Northwest Territories’ Honours Advisory Council, is pleased to announce the 2016 recipients of the Order of the Northwest Territories as:

  • Ms. Nellie Cournoyea
  • Mrs. Jan Stirling
  • Mr. Anthony W. J. Whitford
  • Dr. Marie Wilson

The Order of the Northwest Territories, established in 2013 by the Territorial Emblems and Honours Act, recognizes individuals who have served with the greatest distinction and excelled in any field of endeavour benefiting the people of the NWT or elsewhere. It is the highest honour awarded to NWT residents. A member of the Order can wear the insignia of the Order as a decoration and use the initials “O.N.W.T.” after his or her name.

“These four recipients strongly reflect the spirit and intent behind the Order,” said Paul Delorey, Chair. “They are passionate northerners who greatly inspire us, the residents of NWT, to persevere, share our knowledge and wisdom and, importantly, give back to our people and our communities.”

The Induction ceremony is being held on Wednesday, June 29, 2016 at 11:30 am in the Chamber of the Legislative Assembly. The Deputy Commissioner of the Northwest Territories, the Honourable Gerald W. Kisoun, will lead the ceremony in his role as Chancellor of the Order.

The ceremony is open to the public and the media are welcome to attend.

For more information, please contact:

Tim Mercer
Secretary to the Honours Advisory Council
P: 867-767-9130 or 1-800-661-0784
E: Tim_Mercer@gov.nt.ca