June 4, 2015

EDI Tables its Preliminary Research on the Proposed Hydraulic Fracturing Filing Regulations


(YELLOWKNIFE)  – The Standing Committee on Economic Development and Infrastructure has tabled its preliminary research on the proposed Hydraulic Fracturing Filing Regulations. The document summarizes the Committee’s research to date as Members continue their review of the proposed regulation. The tabled documentwill be available on the Legislative Assembly website later today.

“We’re pleased that the Government has heard the public’s call for more time and consultation on these regulations,” says Chair, Robert Hawkins. “We have heard the desire for jobs and opportunities development can provide, but we have also heard a strong desire for more public information and consultation on hydraulic fracturing. This is no small issue, but having tabled our preliminary research to contribute to the public’s knowledge, we look forward to continued participation in public dialogue through the summer,” continues Mr. Hawkins.

At this time, the Committee has not adopted a position respecting the proposed regulations. Its research compares the proposed regulations and the federal requirements which were in place prior to devolution. Many sections of the proposed regulations mirror the federal requirements, though there are also variations, including additions and items that have not been mirrored.

The Committee’s research also provides background information, considering past activity within the Northwest Territories and recognizing keen public interest in items respecting water security, environmental assessment, northern operating conditions, ongoing research, and waste management.

The Committee recognizes that the proposed regulations would impact not only the Sahtu region, but the Northwest Territories as a whole. Throughout the public engagement period, Members will continue to gather information in keeping with the Committee’s role within the Government of the Northwest Territories.

The current committee consists of MLAs Robert Hawkins (Yellowknife Centre), Frederick Blake Jr. (Mackenzie Delta), Robert Bouchard (Hay River North), Bob Bromley (Weledeh), Kevin Menicoche (Nahendeh), and Michael Nadli (Deh Cho).

For more information, please contact:

Robert Hawkins, Yellowknife Centre MLA
Legislative Assembly of the NWT
Phone: 867-669-2264
Email: robert_hawkins@gov.nt