Members-elect of the 19th Legislative Assembly

Members-elect of the 19th Legislative Assembly

Members-elect of the 19th Legislative Assembly

(Yellowknife) October 2, 2019 – The polls closed at 8:00 pm Tuesday, October 1st and the votes were tallied to reveal the Members-elect of the 19th Northwest Territories Legislative Assembly. Members-elect will be at the Legislature starting October 8th,  but will not be officially sworn in until the middle of October.

The Members-elect, by constituency, are as follows:

Deh Cho – Ronald Bonnetrouge
Frame Lake – Kevin O’Reilly
Great Slave – Katrina Nokleby
Hay River North – R.J. Simpson
Hay River South – Rocky Simpson
Inuvik Boot Lake – Diane Thom
Inuvik Twin Lakes – Lisa Semmler
Kam Lake – Caitlin Cleveland
Mackenzie Delta – Frederick Blake Jr.                
Monfwi – Jackson Lafferty
Nahendeh – Shane Thompson   
Nunakput – Jackie Jacobson
Range Lake – Caroline Cochrane          
Sahtu – Paulie Chinna
Thebacha – Frieda Martselos        
Tu Nedhé-Willideh – Steve Norn 
Yellowknife Centre – Julie Green
Yellowknife North – Rylund Johnson
Yellowknife South – Caroline Wawzonek


During the 18th Assembly, the NWT had 11% women representation, the lowest in Canada, and now going into the 19th, the NWT has almost a 50% gender balance. The Northwest Territories Legislative Assembly has gone from the least gender-balanced legislature to the most gender-balanced in all of Canada.

For information on results statistics visit the Elections NWT website at: and for further information on rules and procedures contact:

Danielle Mager

Manager, Public Affairs and Communications
Northwest Territories Legislative Assembly
Phone: 867-767-9130 ext. 12017