News February 7, 2012

Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Celebrations

(Yellowknife) February 7th, 2012 – The Legislative Assembly and the Government of the Northwest Territories are celebrating the sixtieth anniversary of Queen Elizabeth II’s accession to the throne. This anniversary is known as the Diamond Jubilee.

To start off the week of celebrations, the Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories joined other legislatures around Canada in flying the Queen’s royal standard from sunrise to sunset on Monday, February 6th. The official Diamond Jubilee flag will be flown at the Legislative Assembly throughout the remainder of the Diamond Jubilee Week, February 6th-10th.

The Legislative Assembly has passed a motion of congratulations to the Queen. The following is an excerpt from the motion:

As only the second United Kingdom monarch to reign for 60 years, the Northwest Territories joins the rest of Canada in celebrating Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II in her Diamond Jubilee. Celebrations of such an achievement reinforce the sovereign’s role as a focus for national identity and unity for the people across the Commonwealth. A message is being sent to Her Majesty congratulating her and continuing to welcome her and the Royal family to our land with their examples of devotion and duty to the welfare of the Canadian people.

The motion will be printed and framed for display in the Legislative Assembly and will eventually be forwarded to Buckingham Palace.

“We have hosted her Majesty and members of the Royal family in the Northwest Territories many times,” said Premier Bob McLeod. “We are pleased to join with the rest of Canada and the Commonwealth in honouring Her Majesty and her commitment to public service during her Diamond Jubilee.”

“It is always an honour to celebrate Her Majesty, especially on such a grand occasion,” said Speaker Jackie Jacobson. “We have strong ties to the royal family here in the North and we look forward to strengthening these in the future.”

A public reception to honour the Queen was held at the Legislative Assembly today and the first Northwest Territories Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medals were awarded. The Diamond Jubilee Medals have been established by the Government of Canada to recognize Canadians who have made a significant contribution to their province, territory, community or region; or who have made a significant achievement abroad that brings credit to Canada. In the Northwest Territories, the Government of the Northwest Territories will be accepting nominations from the public for the medals throughout 2012.
Northwest Territories residents can send congratulatory messages to the Queen by writing in one of two books that will be prepared along with a video presentation of photos from past royal visits to the Northwest Territories. One book and video presentation will be set up in the Great Hall of the Legislative Assembly, while a second book and presentation will be set up in public locations in communities across the Northwest Territories throughout 2012. At the end of the year, both books will be forwarded to Buckingham Palace.

Public events to mark the Diamond Jubilee will be organized in Northwest Territories communities throughout the year. Information on upcoming events and Northwest Territories Diamond Jubilee initiatives can be found on the Government of the Northwest Territories website at

Today, February 7th, the Diamond Jubilee medal recipients were:

Mr. Bob McLeod                         Ms. Shirley Firth-Larrson
Mr. Anthony (Tony)Whitford         Ms. Arlene Haché
Mr. Bobby Drygeese                   Ms. Patricia O’Connor
Mrs. Esther Braden
Mrs. Barbara Bromley
Ms. Sharon Firth

For more information, please contact:

Jessica Fournier, Acting Public Affairs and Communications Advisor
Legislative Assembly of the NWT
P: 867-669-2230
F: 867-873-0222

Megan Holsapple,
Senior Communications Advisor
Department of the Executive
P: 867-920-3498
F: 867-873-0629