News June 18, 2012

Members Appointed to Human Rights and Equal Pay Commissions

(Yellowknife, NT) June 18, 2012 – The Honourable George L. Tuccaro, Commissioner of the Northwest Territories, on the recommendation of the Legislative Assembly, has appointed three members to the Northwest Territories Human Rights Commission, reappointed the Equal Pay Commissioner and appointed a new Director of Human Rights. 

Ms. Marion Berls of Fort Smith, and Mr. Charles Dent and Ms. Bronwyn Watters of Yellowknife have all been appointed as members of the Northwest Territories Human Rights Commission for a term of four years. Mr. Yacub Adam of Yellowknife has been re-appointed to the Commission. 

Ms. Deborah McLeod of Yellowknife has been appointed Director of Human Rights for a term of four years. Ms. McLeod currently serves as the Deputy Director and replaces Therese Boullard, the first director of Human Rights for the NWT. 

Ms. Nitya Iyer of Vancouver has been reappointed as the Equal Pay Commissioner for a term of four years. Ms. Iyer has been the Equal Pay Commissioner since 2004. 

“Each of these individuals who have been appointed are very well suited to the roles they have been chosen for,” says Speaker Jacobson. “We look forward to working with each and every one of them. I would also like to extend my gratitude to Therese Boullard for all of the excellent work that she has done during her tenure as the Director of Human Rights.” 

For further information, contact: 

Tim Mercer, Clerk 
Legislative Assembly of the NWT 
P: 867-669-2299 or toll-free 1-800-661-0784