News March 25, 2014

Commissioner of the NWT to Assent to Devolution Bills

(YELLOWKNIFE)  Tuesday, March 25, 2014 – The Commissioner of the Northwest Territories, Honourable George Tuccaro, is expected to assent to ten devolution bills tomorrow. The bills received third reading earlier this month during the Legislative Assembly’s winter sitting. 

The Commissioner’s assent to the ten devolution bills was delayed as Bill C-15, the Northwest Territories Devolution Act, did not receive royal assent until March 25th.

While it has been practice in the Northwest Territories for the Commissioner to give assent to bills in the Legislative Assembly Chamber during session, assent outside of session is common practice elsewhere in Canada and the Commonwealth.

The assent is scheduled to take place at 10:00 am in the Great Hall of the Legislative Assembly building. The public and media are welcome to attend this event.

For more information, please contact:

Colette Langlois, Acting Clerk
Legislative Assembly of the NWT
Phone: 867-669-2299