News May 1, 2014

Elders' Parliament 2014

(YELLOWKNIFE) Thursday, May 1, 2014 – The Speaker of the Legislative Assembly, Honourable Jackie Jacobson, will be hosting the third biennial Elders’ Parliament from May 5 – 9, 2014. Through an application process, eighteen individuals over the age of 50 from across the North have been selected to take part in this outreach program. While in Yellowknife, the participants will attend meetings and briefings in preparation for the Elders’ Parliament Model session, in which they will assume the role of a Member of the Legislative Assembly.

“This is a wonderful opportunity for respected elders in the territory to voice their opinions on the floor of the Legislative Assembly Chamber,” says Speaker Jacobson. The participants will sit in the Chamber for the Model Session on Thursday, May 8, 2014 at 1:30 pm.

The participants, by constituency, are:

Deh Cho – Samuel Gargan                Frame Lake – Jean-Pierre Isoré
Great Slave – Bill Reid                      Hay River North – Tom Makepeace       
Hay River South – Julia Trennert         Inuvik Boot Lake – Mary Beckett      
Inuvik Twin Lakes – Rosa Kayotuk      Mackenzie Delta – Eileen Koe         

Monfwi – Mary Rose Charlo               Nahendeh – Albert Moses  
Nunakput – Jean Gruben                  Range Lake – Elaine Coumont          
Sahtu – Edward Oudzi                      Thebacha – Ron Holtorf                        
Tu Nedhe – Violet Beaulieu               Weledeh – Carole Robinson            
Yellowknife Centre – Be’sha Blondin   Yellowknife South – Melody McLeod

The public is invited to view the Model Session from the Public Gallery and can also view proceedings on the Legislative Assembly’s broadcasting network. Media are encouraged to arrange interviews with the participants prior to and during the sitting day.

For further information, please contact:

Danielle Mager, Public Affairs and Communications Advisor
Legislative Assembly of the NWT
Tel: (867) 669-2230
Fax: (867) 873-0222