News May 29, 2013

Electoral Boundaries Commission Report Tabled

(YELLOWKNIFE) Wednesday, May 29, 2013 – The report of the Northwest Territories Electoral Boundaries Commission was tabled in the Legislative Assembly today by the Honourable Speaker Jackie Jacobson. The report provides the Legislative Assembly with recommendations for changes to the existing NWT electoral boundaries. 

On October 23, 2012 the following individuals were appointed to the Electoral Boundaries Commission: Justice Shannon Smallwood (Chair), Mr. Ian McCrea, and Mr. Charles Furlong. The establishment of an Electoral Boundaries Commission every eight years is a requirement of the Electoral Boundaries Commission Act. The current Commission was established by the Legislative Assembly with a mandate to provide a report within seven months. 

The report includes options for an 18, 19, and 21 Member Legislative Assembly. Copies of the report were distributed to the Members of the Legislative Assembly and were made available to the public on the Assembly website at, under House Business, Tabled Documents, or at the Legislative Assembly building. 

For further information, please contact: 

Jackie Jacobson, Speaker
Legislative Assembly of the NWT
Tel: (867) 669-2234
Fax: (867) 873-0273

Tim Mercer, Clerk
Legislative Assembly of the NWT
Tel: (867) 669-2299
Fax: (867) 920-4735