News May 7, 2014

Elders' Parliament Model Session

(YELLOWKNIFE)  Wednesday, May 7, 2014 – Elders from across the territory are in the Legislative Assembly this week preparing for a Model Session to be held tomorrow on the floor of the Chamber. During the week elders attended meetings, were given various presentations promoting physical activity and healthy eating amongst elders, and participated in the unveiling of a new video from the Department of Health and Social Services.

On Tuesday, May 6, the participants chose their Executive Council; each participant was given the option to put their name forward for Premier or Minister. The names were then placed in a ballot box and chosen at random.

The Executive Council consists of the Premier and six Cabinet Ministers and are as follows:

Premier Melody McLeod – Yellowknife South
Minister Tom Makepeace – Hay River North
Minister Mary Beckett – Inuvik Boot Lake
Minister Jean Gruben – Nunakput
Minister Rosa Kayotuk – Inuvik Twin Lakes
Minister Eileen Koe – Mackenzie Delta
Minister Julia Trennert – Hay River South

The participants then identified three motions that they wish to put forward and debate during the Model Session. The topics were chosen during discussions in meetings involving all the elders.

The three motions that are scheduled to be discussed are:

1.    Moratorium on Fracking
2.    Sustainability Forum to Address High Cost of Living
3.    Community-Based Traditional Knowledge Centres

“This has been a very exciting week for both the elders and the Members of the Legislative Assembly. The participants have been hard at work preparing for the Model Session which is taking place on the Chamber floor tomorrow afternoon. This event has brought together some incredibly wise minds from all over the territory and I am really looking forward to the debate tomorrow, where our elders will share their vision and knowledge with us all,” says the Honourable Jackie Jacobson, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly.

The media and general public are invited to watch the proceedings from the public gallery of the Legislative Assembly building beginning at 1:30 p.m. with a break in the Great Hall at approximately 3:00 p.m.  The session will also be broadcast live on the Legislative Assembly broadcasting network, and will continue to be re-broadcast over the coming months.  Please visit the Legislative Assembly’s website at for a community channel listing.

For more information, please contact:

Danielle Mager, Public Affairs and Communications Advisor
Legislative Assembly of the NWT
P: 867-669-2230 or toll-free 1-800-661-0784
F: 867-873-0222