News October 25, 2011

Process for the Territorial Leadership Committee Confirmed

(Yellowknife) October 25, 2011 – Members of the 17th Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories have confirmed the process to be used to elect the Speaker, Premier and Executive Council during the Territorial Leadership Committee (TLC) meetings being held tomorrow in Yellowknife.

The 19 Members of Caucus have agreed that the first order of business at 9:00 a.m. on Wednesday, October 26, 2011 will be the election of the Speaker. Candidates for the Speaker’s position will have five minutes to deliver a speech to Members of the Assembly regarding their suitability for the role of Speaker. After the speeches have concluded, a secret ballot vote will be held, and the results released. Once the Speaker-elect has been chosen, he/she will assume the Chair of the Territorial Leadership Committee meeting.

The TLC will select the Premier from among the 18 remaining Members. Each candidate nominated for Premier will be given 20 minutes to deliver a speech and will answer a maximum of two questions from each Member.

The Executive Council selection process, which gets underway at 1:00 p.m. on Wednesday, will follow past practice whereby a total of six Ministers will be chosen. The regional balance of two Ministers from the northern constituencies, two from southern constituencies, and two from Yellowknife will be maintained.

The public is invited to observe the Territorial Leadership Committee meetings, which will be held in the Chamber of the Legislative Assembly building. Formal motions to ratify the TLC selections will be brought forward when the 17th Legislative Assembly convenes on Thursday, October 27th, at 1:30 p.m.

Copies of the processes used for the selection of the Speaker, Premier and Executive Council are attached to this news release.

For more information, please contact:

Tim Mercer, Clerk 
Legislative Assembly of the NWT 
P: 867-669-2299 or 1-800-661-0784 

All Members 
Legislative Assembly of the NWT 
P: 867-669-2200 or 1-800-661-0784