News October 26(a), 2011

Northwest Territories Speaker-elect and Premier-elect Chosen

(Yellowknife) October 26, 2011 – The Members of the 17th Legislative Assembly have elected Yellowknife South MLA Bob McLeod as the Northwest Territories Premier-elect and Mr. Jackie Jacobson as the Speaker-elect of the 17th Legislative Assembly. The Territorial Leadership Committee conducted its selection process in the Chamber of the Legislative Assembly earlier today. Formal motions to ratify the selections will be brought forward when the 17th Legislative Assembly convenes on Thursday, October 27, at 1:30 p.m.

This is Mr. McLeod’s second term as the Member for Yellowknife South, having first been elected in 2007. During his time as a Member of the 16th Assembly, Mr. McLeod served as the Minister of Human Resources; Industry, Tourism and Investment; and Minister Responsible for the Public Utilities Board. He was also the Lead Minister on New Energy Initiatives as well as Lead Minister on the Mackenzie Valley Gas Pipeline Project.

Mr. Jacobson was recently elected to serve a second term as the Member for Nunakput after first being elected in 2007. During his time as a Member of the 16th Assembly, Mr. Jacobson sat on the Board of Management, the Standing Committee on Economic Development and Infrastructure, and the Standing Committee on Priorities and Planning. He previously served as the Mayor of the Hamlet of Tuktoyaktuk.

Mr. Jacobson will occupy the Speaker’s Chair on October 27th when the First Session of the 17th Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories is formally convened. Premier-elect McLeod will be sworn in as Premier of the Northwest Territories at a ceremony being held in the Legislative Assembly Chamber at 3:00pm on Thursday, October 27, 2011.

For more information, please contact:

Honourable Jackie Jacobson, Speaker-elect 
Legislative Assembly of the NWT
P: 867-669-2200 or 1-800-661-0784