News October 26(b), 2011

MLAs Select Executive Council

(Yellowknife)  October 26, 2011 - Members of the 17th Legislative Assembly have chosen the six Members who, in concert with Premier-elect Bob McLeod, will form the Executive Council of the Northwest Territories. The Territorial Leadership Committee held the vote in the Assembly Chamber earlier today.

The following Members, once formally sworn in at 3:00 p.m. on Thursday, October 27, 2011, will join Premier-elect Bob McLeod on the Executive Council: 

Mr. Glen Abernethy, MLA Great Slave
Mr.Tom Beaulieu, MLA Tu Nedhe
Mr. Jackson Lafferty, MLA Monfwi
Mr. Robert C. McLeod, MLA Inuvik Twin Lakes
Mr. J. Michael Miltenberger, MLA Thebacha
Mr. David Ramsay, MLA Kam Lake

The Executive Council selection process followed the established practice whereby a regional balance was maintained by selecting two Members from the northern constituencies, two from southern constituencies, and two from Yellowknife. 

Formal motions to ratify the appointments to the Executive Council will be brought forward when the 17th Legislative Assembly convenes on Thursday, October 27, at 1:30 p.m. The Premier will assign cabinet portfolios at a later date.

For more information, please contact:

Tim Mercer, Clerk 
Legislative Assembly of the NWT 
P: 867-669-2299 or 1-800-661-0784