Territorial Leadership Committee Process

Territorial Leadership Committee Process
(YELLOWKNIFE)  Wednesday, October 16, 2019 – Members of the 19th Legislative Assembly are pleased to announce the process for the upcoming Territorial Leadership Committee. 
On Friday, October 18th, 2019 at 9:00 am Members will gather in the Chamber to commence the Territorial Leadership Committee process. Members who are interested in running for the position of Premier of the 19th Legislative Assembly will have the opportunity to announce their intentions and deliver a speech of up to 20 minutes in support of their candidacy. All Members will have the opportunity to ask two questions of each nominated candidate once the speeches have ended. The Territorial Leadership Committee proceedings will then recess until Thursday, October 24th, 2019 at 9:00 am.
The first order of business for the Territorial Leadership Committee on October 24th will be the selection of the Speaker. Members interested in running for this position will have up to 10 minutes to deliver a speech supporting their candidacy. The Speaker will then be chosen by secret ballot.
Following the election of the Speaker, the pre-nominated candidates for Premier will participate in another question-and-answer session with the Members. All Members will be permitted to ask one more question of each candidate. Upon completion of the question-and-answer session, Members will cast secret ballots to elect the Premier of the 19th Legislative Assembly.
The third order of business will be the selection of the Executive Council. The Executive Council will consist of six Members, with two each representing three distinct geographic areas: the “northern” constituencies; the “Yellowknife” constituencies; and the “southern” constituencies.  Members wishing to be considered for Executive Council will have the opportunity to make a speech of up to 10 minutes. Each Member will have the opportunity to ask the candidates one question. The Executive Council will be selected by secret ballot, with separate ballots for each geographic area.
The public and the media are invited to view the proceedings of the Territorial Leadership Committee from the public gallery. The proceedings will also be broadcast live on the Assembly’s television network and webcast via the Legislative Assembly’s Facebook, YouTube and Twitter pages, as well as the Assembly’s website: www.assembly.gov.nt.ca.
The Speaker, Premier, and Executive Council will be appointed by means of a formal motion in the House on Friday, October 25th, and will be sworn-in by the Commissioner of the Northwest Territories, the Honourable Margaret Thom, on that same date.
For more information, please contact:
Danielle Mager
Manager, Public Affairs and Communications
Northwest Territories Legislative Assembly
Phone: 867-767-9130 ext. 12017
E-mail: Danielle_mager@gov.nt.ca