Youth Parliament 2017

Youth Parliament 2017

(YELLOWKNIFE)  Friday, May 5, 2017 – The Legislative Assembly is pleased to announce that the 15th Youth Parliament will begin on Monday, May 8th.  Nineteen high school students from across the north will take part in Youth Parliament, an educational outreach program hosted by the Honourable Speaker of the Legislative Assembly, Jackson Lafferty. During the program, students will assume the role of their respected Member of the Legislative Assembly and will participate in three days of meetings and briefings in preparation for the Youth Parliament Model Session on Thursday, May 11th.


The program is aimed at educating Northern youth about consensus government, with an emphasis on the Assembly operations, its function and history, and the important role the institution holds in the NWT. 


The participants, by constituency, are:


Deh Cho – Ms. Raynna Bonnetrouge                          Frame Lake – Mr. Robert Paddock

Great Slave – Ms. Emma Willoughby                          Hay River North – Ms. Victoria Tweedie-Pitre

Hay River South – Ms. Lisa Boutilier                           Inuvik Boot Lake – Mr. Krish Sharma

Inuvik Twin Lakes – Ms. Myha Martin                         Kam Lake – Ms. Anusha Sivakumar

Mackenzie Delta – Mr. Kennen Jack Andre-Blake       Monfwi – Ms. Rianna Camsell

Nahendeh – Mr. Angus James Capot-Blanc                Nunakput – Mr. Kyran Alikamik

Range Lake – Ms. Alexis McLeod                                 Sahtu – Ms. Allana Zettler

Thebacha – Ms. Macayla Flett-DaCorte                      Yellowknife Centre – Mr. Ivan Ceria

Yellowknife North – Mr. Alvin Kollannoor                  Yellowknife South – Mr. Aidan Allan


The Youth Parliament 2017 Model Session is taking place in the Chamber of the Legislative Assembly building on Thursday, May 11, at 1:30 p.m. The public is invited to view the Youth Parliament proceedings from the Public Gallery. Media are encouraged to arrange interviews with the students prior to the sitting day. 


For more information, please contact:


Danielle Mager

Manager, Public Affairs and Communications

Legislative Assembly of the NWT

Phone: 867-767-9130 ext. 12017 or 1-800-661-0784