Expressions of Interest for the Honours Advisory Council

The Order of the Northwest Territories recognizes individuals who have served with the greatest distinction and excelled in any field of endeavour benefiting the people of the Northwest Territories or elsewhere.

The Territorial Emblems and Honours Act calls for the creation of a Northwest Territories Honours Advisory Council to review nominations and recommend appointments to the Order.  The NWT Honours Advisory Council is a non-partisan committee appointed by the Legislative Assembly. Members of the Honours Advisory Council hold office at pleasure for a term not exceeding three years. The Council includes five members of the public appointed by the Legislative Assembly.

There are currently two vacancies on the Council. The Legislative Assembly is seeking expressions of interest for the council.

Interested candidates may submit an expression of interest to the Legislative Assembly for consideration. The expression of interest should include a summary of the candidate’s interest, qualifications and experience in serving in a similar position.

The deadline for expressions of interest is Friday, May 14th at 5:00 pm.

Expressions of interest should be sent electronically to

Or mailed to the following address:
Honours Advisory Council
Office of the Clerk
Northwest Territories Legislative Assembly
PO Box 1320
Yellowknife, NT
X1A 2L9