R.J. Simpson

Member Hay River North

Member's Office:

P.O. Box 1320  Yellowknife, NT  X1A 2L9
Phone number: 867-767-9141 ext. 11120
Rj_simpson@gov.nt.ca (Minister e-mail)
Rj_simpson@ntassembly.ca (MLA e-mail)

Minister of Education, Culture and Employment

Minister of Justice

Constituency Office:

Main Floor, Wright Centre
104-62 Woodland Drive
Hay River, NT   X0E 1G1
Phone number: 867-874-6301

Hay River North Electoral District:



R.J. Simpson was acclaimed to the 19th Northwest Territories Legislative Assembly representing the constituency of Hay River North.

Mr. Simpson was first elected to the 18th Legislative Assembly in 2015. Mr. Simpson was Deputy Speaker of the 18th Assembly, Deputy Chair of the Standing Committee on Government Operations, and the Chair of the Special Committee on Transition Matters. Mr. Simpson was also a member of the Standing Committee on Priorities and Planning and the Standing Committee on Economic Development and Environment.

Mr. Simpson is a lifelong resident of Hay River After graduating from Diamond Jenness Secondary School in 1998 Mr. Simpson went on to obtain a Bachelor of Arts from MacEwan University and a law degree from the University of Alberta’s Faculty of Law.

Mr. Simpson has previously worked with the Government of Canada, Northern Transportation Company Ltd, Métis Nation Local 51, and Maskwa Engineering.

While at law school, Mr. Simpson was the President of the Aboriginal Law Students’ Association. He has also served on the board of the Soaring Eagle Friendship Centre in Hay River and volunteered with the Canada-Ghana Education Project.