Rocky Simpson

Member Hay River South

Member's Office:

P.O. Box 1320 Yellowknife, NT  X1A 2L9
Phone number: 867-767-9143 ext. 12120

Constituency Office:

#3-66 Woodland Drive (Godwin Mall)
Hay River, NT  X0E 1G1
Phone number: 867-874-6141

Hay River South Electoral District:


Caucus - Deputy Chair
Standing Committee on Accountability and Oversight - Member
Standing Committee on Rules and Procedures - Deputy Chair
Standing Committee on Social Development - Member


Pierre (Rocky) Michael Simpson was elected to the 19th Northwest Territories Legislative Assembly as the Member representing Hay River South.

Mr. Simpson, born in Fort Smith, NT and resides in Hay River, NT.

After graduating from Diamond Jenness Secondary School in Hay River, Mr. Simpson went on to attend and receive a Diploma in Petroleum Engineering Technology from SAIT in Calgary. Mr. Simpson also earned a Bachelor of Science in Computer Science (Montana Tech) and a Bachelor of Science in Business (Montana Tech.), as well as a Bachelor of Laws from the University of British Columbia and is a member of the Law Society of the NWT and the Alberta Society of Engineering Technologists. Recently, Mr. Simpson received his Journeyman Red Seal Certification as a Mobile Crane Operator.

Mr. Simpson has worked in the civil engineering, offshore oil & gas, electrical utilities, consulting, aboriginal politics and legal fields.

Mr. Simpson enjoys cycling and volunteering with NGO’s.

Mr. Simpson is married to Bette Lyons and together have three children and one granddaughter. Mr. Simpson’s son, RJ, is also a sitting Member of the 19th Legislative Assembly.

Oath of Office

Please click here to view Mr. Simpson's Oath of Office