Rylund Johnson

Member Yellowknife North

Member's Office:

P.O. Box 1320  Yellowknife NT  X1A 2L9
Phone number: (867) 767-9143 ext. 12170

Constituency Office:

Phone number: 867-445-7437

Yellowknife North Electoral District:



Caucus - Chair
Special Committee on Reconciliation and Indigenous Affairs - Deputy Chair
Standing Committee on Accountability and Oversight - Member
Standing Committee on Rules and Procedures - Alternate
Standing Committee on Economic Development and Environment - Member
Standing Committee on Government Operations - Member
Standing Committee on Social Development - Alternate


Rylund Johnson was elected to the 19th Northwest Territories Legislative Assembly representing Yellowknife North.

Rylund was born in Summerland, British Columbia and made Yellowknife his home in 2015.

With a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science and a law degree from the University of Victoria and a history of advocacy and community organizing, Rylund has been preparing for politics for a long time.

Rylund came to Yellowknife as a student for the federal Crown Prosecutor, and then went on to practice law at Dragon Toner Law Office, and the territorial government’s Department of Environment and Natural Resources.

In 2019, he began making a living as a tourism operator and dove into his passion for working with his hands as a co-founder of YK Makerspace.

A committed community-builder, he has also served as ticketing manager for Folk on the Rocks, Chair of the Canadian Bar Association’s Aboriginal Law Section – NWT, and Vice Chair of the organization’s public lawyers’ section.

In his downtime, you’ll find Rylund podcasting, sailing, or making his latest Dead North film.

Oath of Office

To view Mr. Johnson's Oath of Office, please click here